top of page
Search
  • laurenansay04

My First Mentor Meeting

December 11th, 2021

Last Wednesday I got to officially meet up with my mentor, Ariel Vovakes. She is a speech-language pathologist at Frisco Feeding and Speech Therapy. She gave me an amazing tour of the facility where I was introduced to many friendly faces that work there as well. The building was bright and colorful. It was the absolutely perfect environment for a child. We went over my original work idea for creating a board game for use both at home and in a speech-pathology lesson, as well as basic mentor procedures as well. I'm thrilled to have been given the opportunity to work with her and become more educated on this topic of study. Our next meeting is this upcoming Tuesday, where I'll be able to sit in on patients with specific speech impediments or skill troubles. I'm so excited to see how Ariel works with the kids, and what kind of tactics she uses to help them get better and better each visit. As I continue the ISM journey, now with a mentor, I hope to discover new opportunities to be a part of in order to grow my understanding of speech therapy, now that I'm developing more connections.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Continuing Final Product

March 28, 2022 This week I'm continuing to work on my final product. Right now I have the base complete and I'm trying to figure out if I want to cover it with paper or paint it. I want to make this b

Final Product Preparation

March 21, 2022 Last week I met with my mentor Ariel Vovakes for one of our weekly visits. We met with a client and additionally discussed my thoughts for my final product since I've started putting it

What I've done during Spring Break

March 14th, 2022 The last nine weeks are finally here, and there are still lots of assignments to complete for our final presentation in April. Over break, I've been trying to outline and form my fina

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page